Chenango County, NY
Travel and Tourism Guide

About The County


Chenango County is centrally located in the Southern Tier region of New York State.  The county seat is the City of Norwich which is located in the geographic center of the County, approximately 40 miles northeast of Binghamton and 60 miles southeast of Syracuse.

Chenango County had a 1990 population of 51,768.  The County includes 21 townships, 8 villages and one City.   It is predominantly rural in character with approximately 897 square miles of rolling hills and fertile river valleys.

The rural character of the County is reflected in its land use.   Approximately 30% of the land is devoted to agricultural use.  Just over 60% is forested.  Only about 5% of the County's total land area is developed in commercial, industrial or residential use.

Chenango County Map

Chenango County Towns, Cities and Villages

©Copyright 1997-2024 All Rights Reserved
Designed, hosted and maintained by WoollybearWeb